Skip to main content
Banner Image

Religion: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the Pearson Library's Religion Resources Guide!

This resource guide will help you discover all that the Pearson Library has to offer, from finding books to finding articles, as well as our other services to help you find what you need.  Ask us if you need any help!

Research Steps

5 steps to successful research

Find a focus: Develop a manageable topic - not too broad, not too narrow.

Frame your topic idea as a research question.  Here's a few examples: Did the Essenes influence Jesus' teachings? How does the marriage rite differ between Jews and Muslims?  What is the purpose of head coverings in different faith traditions? Is "just war" incompatible with non-violence? How can I develop a successful youth program in urban areas?

 Identify needed information: Decide what sort of books, reference sources, and articles will help you thoroughly research your subject.  Consider current books, eBooks, and journal articles, and decide if you need to interview experts on the subject.

Create your research strategy: List keywords, synonyms and related terms, subject terms, and descriptors for your research.

Review your findings: Look at the quality, quantity, and relevance of your research.  Are your sources credible? Does your research answer your question?  Are you finding relevant facts and quotes?  Identify the gaps.  Ask yourself: What else do I need to know?  What seems to be missing?

Databases for Religion

Here are some great religion databases to start your research with:

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (EBSCO) | How to do an Advanced Search 
The ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials gives access to full-text journal articles, essays, book reviews, ministry reports and theses in all fields of religion. Coverage begins in 1908, though indexing for some journals goes back into the 19th century. Produced by the American Theological Library Association.

Religion: the ProQuest Collection Topic Guide Tutorial | Advanced Search Tutorial
Search a comprehensive collection of full-text journals covering religious issues and perspectives, including religious news and information, commentary on topics of general interest from the perspective of a particular religion, and formal theological studies.

Biblical Archeology Society Archives Biblical Archeology Search Tutorial
Access to the Biblical Archaeology Review. Covering both the Old and New Testaments, BAR presents the latest discoveries and controversies in archaeology with breathtaking photography and informative maps and diagrams. BAR is the only nonsectarian forum for the discussion of Biblical archaeology.

JSTOR |  How to Search JSTOR
NOTE: YOU MUST SAVE THE ARTICLE BEFORE E-MAILING IT.
The JSTOR archive presents high-resolution page images for viewing and printing articles in combination with a linked text file for each article that enables full-text searching. The complete archives of more than 1,000 core scholarly journals in the areas of African American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, language and literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics have been digitized starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800's.

Old Testament Abstracts Usage Help 
This database helps you find abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. It provides links for full text articles when available. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more. 

Want to know if we have a specific journal title?  Use the electronic journals look-up.

More databases

Academic OneFile 
Premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.

Academic Search Premier
An interdisciplinary database where you can find information on practically anything from all kinds of sources (newspapers, magazines, book chapters, journal articles, etc.)

Humanities Full Text - Wilson Web | Usage Help Full-text Database Tutorial
Contains full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. This database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more. (Indexing and abstracting from 1984; full-text from 1994.)

 JSTOR | Usage Help How to Search JSTOR
NOTE: YOU MUST SAVE THE ARTICLE BEFORE E-MAILING IT.
The JSTOR archive presents high-resolution page images for viewing and printing articles in combination with a linked text file for each article that enables full-text searching. The complete archives of more than 1,000 core scholarly journals in the areas of African American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, language and literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics have been digitized starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800's.

OmniFile Full Text Mega (Wilson) | Usage HelpThe database contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily-searched database. With the full text of articles from over 2,500 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications, this database provides invaluable support for research in all core undergraduate subjects and for cross-disciplinary work. 

Project Muse | Usage Help 

ProQuest (click here to search ALL modules) | Usage HelpQuick Start Reference Overview
Search all available ProQuest databases, including National Newspapers Core, ProQuest Historical Newspapers, ProQuest Religion, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, ProQuest Research Library, Nursing and Allied Health Care, and a slew of additional databases in key disciplines. Includes the L. A. Times. 

Taylor & Francis Arts & Humanities Journals | Usage Help - NEWA comprehensive list of journals across the Arts & Humanities spectrum. Features 147 peer-reviewed journals including some of the most prestigious titles in the fields of History, Literature, Language and Linguistics, Music, Philosophy, Religion, Theatre and, Performance Studies, Visual Arts.

Wiley Online Library: Journals | Usage Help - NEWMultidisciplinary e-journals package with access to over 1360 full-text journals, including many formerly published by Blackwell.

Your Librarian

Yvonne Wilber
Contact:
(805) 493-3092