On this page, you will discover:
There are 2 common types of annotations - descriptive andcritical.
"Descriptive annotation may summarize:
"Critical annotation includes the same information as a descriptive annotation, but will also include value judgments or comments on the effectiveness of the work. [In this context, critical means evaluative and may include both positive and negative comments.] When writing a critical annotation, include some of the these features:
This guide will help you create an Annotated Bibliographies. It will take you step by step through the process. Please contact a librarian if you have questions or need further assistance!
An annotated bibliography is a bibliography that also includes a paragraph following each citation that summarizes or evaluates the source being cited. "Each annotation is generally three to seven sentences long. In some bibliographies, the annotation merely describes the content and scope of the source; in others, the annotation also evaluates the source’s reliability, currency, and relevance to a researcher’s purpose" (Glossary of Research Terms, n.d.).
The primary purpose of bibliographic citations is to assist the reader in finding the sources used in the writing of a work. Depending on the assignment, an annotated bibligraphy might have different purposes:
The citations (bibliographic information - title, date, author, publisher, etc.) in the annotated bibliography are formatted using the particular style manual (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.) that your discipline requires.
Annotations are written in paragraph form, usually 3-7 sentences (or 80-200 words). Depending on your assignment your annotations will generally include the following:
When creating an annotated bibliography you will need to know how to summarize and analyze, and know how to do library research.
This guide has been adapted with permission from the Azuza Pacific University Libraries