BooksDatabases & Web ResourcesDigital Visual Collection for U.S. HistoryQuiz your knowledge
Web SitesArgument EssayDigital Visual ResourcesPopular Topics and Global IssuesArticles/Databases
Digital Visual ResourcesCountry OverviewArticles/DatabasesGetting Started
Articles/DatabasesGetting StartedHow to write annotated bibliographyVisual Digital ResourcesQuiz your knowledge
BooksDatabases & Web ResourcesDigital Visual Collection for U.S. HistoryAnnotated BibliographyPrimary Sources
BooksPrimary SourcesENG 480 Research DatabasesDigital Visual ResourcesQuiz your knowledgeWeb Sources
Primary SourcesENG 111 Research DatabasesDigital Visual ResourcesQuiz your knowledge
Getting StartedPopular Topics and Global IssuesPrimary SourcesDigital Visual Resources
English Resources for ENG111Literary Criticism
BooksPrimary SourcesResearch DatabasesDigital Visual ResourcesQuiz your knowledge
Web SitesDigital Visual ResourcesPopular Topics and Global IssuesArticles/Databases
Web SitesDigital Visual ResourcesPopular Topics and Global IssuesArticles/DatabasesArgument Essay
This is the "Databases" page of the "English" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English   Tags: clu, english, libguide  

Last Updated: Nov 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.callutheran.edu/english Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Electronic Journals

Contemporary Literature
2003- present  /   1968-2008

Contemporary Literature leads the way with in-depth interviews with significant writers, broad-ranging articles written by leaders in the field and book reviews of important critical studies.

Essays in Criticism
Founded in 1951, by F. W. Bateson, Essays in Criticism soon achieved world-wide circulation, and is today regarded as one of Britain's most distinguished journals of literary criticism. Essays in Criticism covers the whole field of English Literature from the time of Chaucer to the present day. The journal maintains that originality in interpretation must be allied to the best scholarly standards. Moreover, whilst always pursuing new directions and responding to new developments, Essays in Criticism has kept a balance between the constructive and the sceptical, giving the journal particular value at a time when criticism has become so diversified. In addition to the articles, Essays in Criticism has lengthy and searching book reviews, and the 'Critical Opinion' section offers topical discussion on a wide range of literary issues.

PMLA
PMLA is the journal of the Modern Language Association of America. Since 1884, PMLA has published members' essays judged to be of interest to scholars and teachers of language and literature. Four issues each year (January, March, May, and October) present essays on language and literature; a Directory issue (September) contains a listing of the association's members, a directory of departmental administrators, and other professional information; and the November issue is the program for the association's annual convention. Each issue of PMLA is sent directly to the more than 30,000 college and university teachers of English and foreign languages who belong to the association and to about 3,000 libraries throughout the world.

The Review of English Studies
The Review of English Studies is the leading scholarly journal in the field of English literature and the English language from the earliest period up to today. Emphasis is on historical scholarship rather than interpretive criticism, though fresh evaluation of writers and their work are also offered in the light of newly discovered or existing materials.


 

Electronic Databases

Academic OneFile
Premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.

Academic Search Premier| Usage Help
Academic Search Premier is the world’s largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,144 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.

African American Studies Center (AASC)| Usage Help
AASC Biography Tutorial
Combines the authority of carefully edited reference works with sophisticated technology to create the most comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Includes more than 7,500 articles by top scholars in the field.

Biography Resource Center| Usage Help
Biographical Fact Search Tutorial | Creating Citations Tutorial
The Biography Resource Center is a comprehensive database of biographical information on more than 200,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.

Black Drama| Usage Help
A full text database of 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 150 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of these works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. Nearly a quarter of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.

Cambridge Collections: Shakespeare Survey
Shakespeare Survey is a yearbook of Shakespeare studies and production. Since 1948 Survey has published the best international scholarship in English and many of its essays have become classics of Shakespeare criticism. Each volume is devoted to a theme, or play, or group of plays; each also contains a section of reviews of that year's textual and critical studies, and of the year's major British performances. The virtues of accessible scholarship and a keen interest in performance, from Shakespeare's time to our own, have characterised the journal from the start. The books are illustrated with a variety of Shakespearean images and production photographs.

Cambridge Journals Online
Cambridge Journals Online is a full text collection of over 230 titles covering over 32 subject areas, ranging from Agriculture, Archaeology and Anthropology, Nutrition, to Psychology and Cognitive Science, Religion and Social Studies.

Dissertations & Theses: Full Text
With more than 2.4 million entries, the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) database is the most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses in the world. UMI offers over 2 million titles for purchase in microfilm or paper formats. More than 930,000 are available in PDF format for immediate free download, and an average of 2,000 new PDFs are added to the database each week.

E-BRARY| Usage Help
A growing collection of more than 47,000 titles in all academic subject areas. NOTE: THE FOLLOWING ACTIONS ARE REQUIRED TO USE THE ADDED FUNCTIONALITY OF THIS DATABASE. Once on the Ebrary website click Sign In link (upper right corner) to utilize the Bookshelf functionality. Also, Ebrary’s Plug-in has to be dowloaded by clicking on Ebrary Reader button located by the title.

Early American Newspapers, Series 2 (1758-1900)
This primary resource database offers several hundred thousand fully searchable issues from more than 250 significant 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from all 50 present states. Based primarily on the holdings of the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), which houses a vast collection of American newspapers through 1876, Series 2 also includes titles from the acclaimed newspaper collection of the Wisconsin Historical Society and more than 90 other institutions.

EBSCOhost Mobile - NEW
EBSCOhost application is tailor-made for the smaller screens of mobile devices, and offers the most important EBSCOhost features and functionality, right in the palm of your hand!

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text (EBSCO)| Usage Help 
Film & Television Literature Index™ with Full Text is a comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications (and selected coverage of 300), as well as full text for more than 120 journals and 100 books. Includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present, and more than 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.

Gale Literary Databases| Usage Help
Made available via Gale Literary Resources. A resource of contemporary authors which provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on approximately 100,000 U.S. and international authors. Contemporary Literary Criticism: An extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary writers; each entry also contains a biographical/critical introduction, a list of principal works and sources for further study. Dictionary of Literary Biography: Documents the lives and careers of authors from all eras and genres; provides biographies, critical studies, bibliographies and sources for further reading. Literature Resource Center (LRC): Covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors.

Google Scholar
Search for relevant scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Humanities - ProQuest Research Library| Usage Help
Topic Guide Tutorial | Advanced Tutorial
Search periodicals on humanities subjects such as communication, history, journalism, literature, philosophy, religion, and more in this ProQuest Research Library module.

Humanities Full Text - Wilson Web| Usage Help
Contains full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. This database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more.

Journal Citation Reports: Social Sciences Edition - ISI Web of Knowledge
Journal performance metrics offer a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals Delivers quantifiable statistical information based on citation data Helps determine a publication’s impact and influence in the global research community Includes journal and category data

JSTOR| Advanced Search Tutorial
The JSTOR archive presents high-resolution page images for viewing and printing articles in combination with a linked text file for each article that enables full-text searching. The complete archives of core scholarly journals in the areas of African American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, language and literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics have been digitized starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800's. New titles and fields are being added regularly.

Latino Literature| Usage Help
This database draws from three major sources: the world of Aztlan, the mythical homeland of the Aztecs prior to Cortez; the Spanish heritage of the national homelands of the writers; and the intersection of these two with Anglo culture. These influences create persistent themes, the most common of which are social protest and exploitation; the migratory experience; self-exploration or self-definition, including the exploration of myths and legends; and life in the barrio (the traditional Latino district of the city). Alongside these broad, shared themes, Latino literature also reflects the distinct immigration experiences of discrete groups.

Literature Criticism Online
Thomson Gale™ takes literature, history and culture to the next level with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available: Literature Criticism Online. Imagine centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. The net result is tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays at your fingertips. It's all designed to raise the level of research while providing the around-the-clock remote access that today's researchers demand.

Literature Online (LION)| Usage Help
Author Search Tutorial | Criticism & Reference Tutorial
LION is a fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 131 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.

Literature Resource Center - LRC, Scribner Writers Series Online, Twayne's Authors Online
Full-text journal articles, literary criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews on over 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world

LitFinder - NEW
LitFinder is a source for exemplary original literature content. This online resource is replete with full-text and primary content vital to literature and language study. It provides access to more than 135,000 full-text poems, stories, plays and more. The superior content, including world coverage, period pieces, unmatched primary content, easy-to-use functionality and fast access make LitFinder an excellent source for literature scholarship.

Los Angeles Times (ProQuest) | Usage Help
Today's top news stories from one of the larges metropolitan newspapers in the U.S. is made available via ProQuest Newspapers. Extensive coverage of national, international and local news, dating back to 1985. Detailed indexing and full-text of recent articles. Users can also search the L.A. Times as part of the National Newspapers Core database for a more thorough search that includes other regional and national papers.

MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.

Newspaper Source (EBSCO) | Usage Help
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 40 national (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, The San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries| Usage Help
Made available via Alexander Street Press. North American Women's Letters and Diaries is the largest electronic collection of women's diaries and correspondence ever assembled. Includes more than 1,500 biographies spanning more than 300 years, it presents the personal experiences of hundreds of women. The collection also includes approximately 150,000 pages of letters and diaries from Colonial times to 1950, including 7,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts.

Oxford English Dictionary| Usage Help - NEW
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological analysis and in listing of variant spellings, and it shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.

Oxford Journals Online - SCELC
Oxford Journals Online is a collection of well over 200 academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, two-thirds of which are published in collaboration with learned societies and other international organizations.

Oxford Reference Collection| Usage Help
Over 130 subject dictionaries, plus the World Encyclopedia, offer unrivalled coverage of everything from art to accountancy, politics to physics, and computing to classics.

Project Gutenberg Online Book Catalog| Usage Help
Project Gutenberg is the oldest producer of free ebooks on the Internet. There are 20,000 free books in this collection.

Project Muse| Usage Help
(1993-present) Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.

ProQuest (click here to search ALL modules) | Usage Help
Search all available ProQuest databases, including National Newspapers Core, ProQuest Historical Newspapers, ProQuest Religion, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, ProQuest Research Library, Nursing and Allied Health Care, and a slew of additional databases in key disciplines. Includes the L. A. Times.

Readers' Guide Full Text| Usage Help
An electronic database to access the current events, curriculum support, and quality periodicals research.

Reference Library-Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)| Usage Help
Made available via the Gale Virtual Reference Library. This is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).

SAGE Premier| Usage Help
The SAGE Premier package includes leading international peer-reviewed titles, including high-impact research journals published on behalf of over 245 scholarly and professional societies. SAGE journals cover a wide range of subject areas, including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine. SAGE Premier includes access to 550+ SAGE journal titles, comprising over 264,000+ full-text articles.

Theatre in Video
This resource contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all. This release contains 279 titles, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Included are landmark performances such as The Iceman Cometh, Awake and Sing, Dom Juan, Bérénice, Long Day's Journey Into Night, and the complete works of Shakespeare as produced by the BBC and other theatrical companies. For the first time, students, instructors and researchers can bookmark specific scenes, monologues and staging, and these landmark performances can become a permanent part of the curriculum.

Wiley Online Library: Journals | Usage Help 
Multidisciplinary e-journals package with access to over 1360 full-text journals, including many formerly published by Blackwell.

Your Information Specialist

Profile Image
George Peabody Library, Baltimore, Maryland, USA
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip