Welcome to the Doctoral Studies Resources Page!
Looking for help with your dissertation? Need a referral to an editor? Want to know how to submit your final manuscript to ProQuest? Then look no further! This guide will lead you to all of these resources and much more.
Oxnard Center doctoral students Nazila Pedram, Ebony Christian, and Jami Kerr present their research
at the 2012 Festival of Scholars Photo by Henri Mondschein
The Pearson Library offers rich resources to help you with your studies and dissertation. Our comprehensive resources include:
- Over 135,600 volumes
- Over 414 print journal subscriptions
- Access to 160 subscription databases with over 93,000 full-text journals online
- Access to over 142,000 electronic books (eBooks)
- Over 5,500 streaming online videos
- Over 100,000 rights-cleared images
Powerful Electronic Databases
Specialized databases relevant to dissertation and doctoral-level research include: Academic Search Premier, ERIC, Wilson Education Full-Text, Dissertation Abstracts, PsycINFO, JSTOR, Project Muse and SCOPUS.
A full-time education librarian with an Ed.D. provides personalized assistance with online research and using tools such as EndNote and Qualrus. Information literacy instruction on using these resources to all doctoral students during classroom visits.
An Information Commons provides reference services and technology assistance from 10 A.M. to 10 P.M. during the regular academic year. This service is staffed by professional librarians and trained student assistants.
Quick & Efficient Interlibrary Loan
CLU students enjoy efficient interlibrary loan services at no charge. Books, articles and hard-to-find research materials can be requested. Articles are delivered electronically as PDF documents within 3-5 days. Nominal charges for specialized requests.
Specialized Research Tools
These tools are available to all students and will help you conduct research, analyze data and format your research project. Training workshops are regularly available.
EndNote X5 is a powerful software tool for organizing and managing research and applying APA and other styles to manuscripts. Available for installation on graduate student computers. Contact the Help Desk for an appointment.
Qualtrics is an easy-to-use tool for conducting online surveys. It is accessible anywhere via an Internet connection. Request an account by contacting the Help Desk.
Qualrus is a powerful application used for organizing and analyzing qualitative data such as interviews, field notes, video, images and more. It is available in campus PC labs. Purchase the full version at a discounted student rate from the Qualrus Order Page.
SPSS is the premier application used to analyze quantitative data. It is available in campus PC labs. Purchase a student version by visiting SPSS Student Software for options. Note: The University does not support SPSS for the MAC.
5 steps to successful research
- Find a focus: Develop a manageable topic - not too broad, not too narrow. Frame your topic idea as a question. For example: What is the impact of the recession on public housing projects?
- Craft a thesis statement: The thesis statement is a position, an assertion or opinion in need of explanation.
- Identify needed information: Decide what books, reference sources, and articles will help you thoroughly research your subject. Consider current books, eBooks, articles, and decide if you need to interview experts on the subject.
- Create your research strategy: List keywords, synonyms and related terms, subject terms, and descriptors for your research.
- Review your findings: Look at the quality, quantity, and relevance of the results. Does your research support your thesis? Are you finding relevant facts and quotes? Identify the gaps. Ask yourself: What else do I need to know? What seems to be missing?