Free E-books Online
DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books - DOAB provides open access to over 854 Academic peer-reviewed books from 25 publishers.
Google Books - Titles in the public domain or not copyrighted are freely available. Other titles have previews or snippets available.
HathiTrust Digital Library - A partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future (HaithiTrust titles are available in Quick Search)
Project Gutenberg - Over 40,000 free E-books from the first E-book website.
The Online Books Page - Over 1 million free E-books from the University of Pennsylvania.
Questions? Use Pearson Library's FAQ's "Ask a Librarian!"
E-books @ Pearson Library
Ebrary Academic Complete - A growing collection of more than 52,000 titles in all academic subject areas, most published since 2004.
Ebscohost E-books - EBSCO’s extensive collection of eBook titles on EBSCOhost allows for a comprehensive and powerful search experience- with every search, relevant eBook titles will appear directly alongside your other EBSCO databases, exposing users to the full depth of your library’s offerings and increasing usage and visibility of your library’s entire collection.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Reference ebooks collection)
This is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Search thousands of reference e-books with more than 1.8 million documents. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
History Reference Online--ABC-CLIO eBook Collection
ABC CLIO's eBook Collection offers more than 6,000 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and guides from ABC-CLIO, Greenwood Press, Libraries Unlimited, and Praeger, providing information on a multitude of subjects including history, popular culture, social sciences, and professional materials for teachers.
- Humanities E-Book Project ACLS
- Humanities E-Book is a digital collection offered by the American Council of Learned Societies in collaboration with 20 learned societies, over 100 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan’s Scholarly Publishing Office. It is an online, fully-searchable collection of over 3,300 high-quality books in the Humanities, including works of major importance that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students.
Oxford Reference Online (ORO)
With more than 220 subject dictionaries and reference titles offer quick reference answers in the areas of language, general reference, humanities and social science, business and professional, and science, technology and medicine. ORO brings them all into a single cross-searchable resource.
Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO)
Oxford Scholarship Online is a cross-searchable library containing the full text of 4,689 Oxford books in the areas of Economics and Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, and 14 other subject areas. Specially-commissioned abstracts and keywords are available at book and chapter level, and at least 500 new and recently-published books are added each year.
PsycBOOKS, contains of more than 32,000 chapters in PDF from almost 2,000 books published by APA and other distinguished publishers. Includes almost 1,500 classic books of landmark historical impact in psychology dating from the 1600s, and the exclusive electronic release of more than 1,500 authored entries from the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology. This database also contains digitized content of historical significance from the Archives of the History of American Psychology (AHAP) collection.
SAGE Knowledge & Corwin e-Book Collection
SAGE Knowledge is a customized collection of e-books covering the field of Education. CLU’s subscription features 85 full-text titles from the Corwin e-Book Collection and 63 titles from the E-Reference Collection. The Corwin e-books cover the fields of Teacher Education, Special Education, Counseling and Guidance, Educational Administration and Educational Leadership. Titles include works from best-selling Corwin authors such as Charlotte Danielson, Michael Fullan, Kaye Burke, Douglas Reeves, Randall Lindsey, Cara Shores, Carolyn Chapman, Michael Barber, David Sousa, and Jim Knight.
Sage Research Methods Online
SAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a research tool supported by a newly devised taxonomy that links content and methods terms. It is the place to go for independent research in social science methods, delivering material across the breadth of this area of: quantitative methods, qualitative methods, mixed methods and research design. SRMO contains 600 books and reference titles, 140+ journal articles and 15+ videos, and the entire "Little Green Book" and "Little Blue Book" series.
SpringerLink (Formerly Kluwer Online)
Full-text SpringerLink provides instant access to one of the most respected and expanding collections of scholarly and scientific writing available today. The SpringerLink Journals offer access to 2,638 peer-reviewed journals and 47,441 books, articles indexed by ISI/links from Web of Science, CSA and other databases, and additional features such as Articles in Advance and enhanced searching capabilities.