This is the "Home" page of the "Digital & Multimedia Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Digital & Multimedia Resources  

Last Updated: Sep 17, 2014 URL: http://libguides.callutheran.edu/multimedia Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Digital & Multimedia Resources

Art Museum Image Gallery - (Wilson/EBSCO)  
NOTE: All Wilson databases moved to the EBSCOhost platform! The Art Museum Image Gallery is a rich digital resource of art images and related multimedia gathered from the collections of distinguished museums around the world. The Art Museum Image Gallery can be searched alone or simultaneously with other EBSCOhost databases. Images are rights-cleared for educational use. Cultures and time periods represented range from contemporary art, Native American and Inuit art, to ancient Greek, Roman, and Egyptian works, along with Japanese and Chinese works. The database includes numerous multimedia files.

BrowZine | Usage Help - NEW

BrowZine is a tablet application that allows you to browse, read and monitor majority of the Pearson Library's scholarly journals, all from your iPad. Built to accompany your searching needs, items found in BrowZine can easily be synced up with Zotero, Dropbox or several other services to help keep all of your information together in one place. Please note that journals available through BrowZine have a “soft” backfile limit of 2005-Present. If you require older materials, please visit the library website. To learn more, please take a look at this short two minute video: http://thirdiron.com/browzine-ipad-app/video/

CAMIO (OCLC) 
OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online — is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of several prominent museums. CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms. More than 95,000 rights-cleared images are available.

Cinema Image Gallery (Wilson/EBSCO) 
NOTE: All Wilson databases moved to the EBSCOhost platform! This database features an unparalleled range of pictures, posters, video clips, and other material from the world of film and television, from the late 19th century to the present day. Content includes over 217,000 superior-quality images, including more than 6,200 posters and lobby cards used to promote movies. There are also links to 160 full movies and biographical materials about notable figures in the industry. Each image is indexed with Title, Director, Actor Names, Genre, Awards (Academy Award, Cannes Film Festival, Screen Actors Guild.)

Classical Music in Video - contains classical music performances and masterclasses captured on video. The collection include performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.

Counseling and Therapy in Video (ASP) 
Counseling and Therapy in Video provides the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Counseling and Therapy in Video's suite of tools—searches and browses powered by Semantic Indexing™ and searchable transcripts synchronized to video—give the ability to drill down in seconds to find the footage of interest from hundreds of hours of video. It currently includes 1,085 videos totaling 2017 hours. In addition, Alexander Street Counseling collection includes The Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy, which provides access to the latest in research and best practice methods in the fields of counseling, mental health, and psychology. In its first year, the Journal will launch with over 1,000 hours of contemporary presentations, lectures, and workshops filmed at conferences and seminars world-wide.

Films On Demand - Humanities & Social Sciences Video Collection 

Films on Demand, is a resource produced by Films Media Group that streams educational content directly to the web for classroom instruction and research purposes. Pearson Library subscribes to the Humanities & Social Sciences Video Collection with over 12,000 full-length videos. Videos from On Demand could be integrated directly into a course website or a course management system and they can be accessed anywhere within our institution's authentication range. If viewed from off-campus users will be prompted to enter a username and password in order to view the embedded video.

Kanopy - An online video collection covering topics such as film studies, sustainability & environment, gender studies, applied science, business and psychology, and more. Some of the top film producers available through Kanopy include PBS, Criterion Collection, Green Planet, Symptom Media, Kino Lorber Edu, and more! The Pearson Library collection includes over 4,700 titles.

Naxos Music Library 

Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world's largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 57.391 CDs with more than 822,716 tracks. The library offers the catalogs of more than 50 classical, jazz and world music labels, and selections from many others. Among the labels whose catalogs are included in the service are leading independent classical labels such as BIS, Chandos, CPO, Haenssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Vanguard Classics, VOX, and of course Naxos. World music content is provided by ARC, Celestial Harmonies and others; and there is also jazz, film music, nostalgia, classic and contemporary rock content.

Mango Languages  
Mango is an online language-learning system. CLU patrons have access to the following 6 languages: Greek (Koine), Biblical Hebrew, Latin, Turkish, Persian, Russian, and ESL for Arabic speakers. Each language course offers a rich visual and sensory learning experience that integrates classical texts with the latest language techniques and rich cultural notes. Mango lessons combine everyday conversation skills, memory building strategies and interactivity.

OAIster (OCLC) 
OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open archive digital resources that was built by harvesting from open archive collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). Today, OAIster boasts more than 23 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,100 contributors.

Powerspeak Languages - GALE 
The Powerspeak Languages online learning program provides a rich language learning experience that uses audio, video, and interactive lessons to take users beyond rote memorization to a deep understanding of how to communicate with confidence in a new language.

Theatre in Video  - contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world‘s leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.

The following databases in addition to the full text articles, include multimedia resources:

Academic OneFile (GALE) 
Premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.

Biography in Context (formerly Biography Resource Center--GALE) 
Biography in Context is a comprehensive database of biographical information on more than 525,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Integrated reference materials include biographical narratives, full-text articles, and thousands of images and other media-rich content in context. Updated daily.

Global Issues in Context  - the video gallery offers a global perspective on issues of international importance, current world events, and topics in the news related to these issues. Thousands of videos — from NBC news, the Associated Press, and more — are exclusive to Global Issues in Context and provide uniquely engaging viewpoints.

GREENR (GALE) 
GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources) is an online resource that offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more. This resource provides news, video, primary source documents and more in highly accessible research areas covering relevant categories such as energy systems, healthcare, food and others.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (GALE) 
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale, Macmillan Reference USA, Charles Scribner's Sons, and U.X.L. sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles that cover today's hottest issues. Includes a curriculum standards search, allowing educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline.

 
 

Find everything


WorldCat Local tutorials
  |  WorldCat Local FAQs

Your Information Specialist

Profile Image
George Peabody Library, Baltimore, Maryland, USA
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip