This is the "Home" page of the "Newspapers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Oct 13, 2014 URL: http://libguides.callutheran.edu/newspapers Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Newspapers

Early American Newspapers, Series 2 (1758-1900)
This primary resource database offers several hundred thousand fully searchable issues from more than 250 significant 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from all 50 present states. Based primarily on the holdings of the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), which houses a vast collection of American newspapers through 1876, Series 2 also includes titles from the acclaimed newspaper collection of the Wisconsin Historical Society and more than 90 other institutions.
 
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest)  1985 - present
Today's top news stories from one of the larges metropolitan newspapers in the U.S. is made available via ProQuest Newspapers. Extensive coverage of national, international and local news, dating back to 1985. Detailed indexing and full-text of recent articles. Users can also search the L.A. Times as part of the National Newspapers Core database for a more thorough search that includes other regional and national papers.
 
Los Angeles Times: Historical Issues (ProQuest) (1881-1987) 
Made available via ProQuest Historical Newspapers. The Los Angeles Times offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
 
Middle East Newsstand (ProQuest)
Note: To find a newspaper by place of publication, type the city or country in the search box, and choose "In Publication Summary" from the dropdown menu.
To read a particular title, click on the "Publications" link, type in the newspaper's name, and hit 'enter'. Choose the title from the results list. You can choose to view the most recent issue, or browse past issues, or search within all issues.

Middle East Newsstand provides more than 30 current, full text news sources in English and French from across the Arab World, Southwest Asia and surrounding countries. Several of the sources have been translated from Arabic to English by the publisher, so your users benefit from the point of view of both Arabic and English language publications. Titles include: Aljazeera.netDar Al-HayatGulf Daily NewsPalestine ChronicleLe TempsSudan TribuneTimes of Oman, and the Yemen Times.
National Newspapers Core (ProQuest)
Note: To read a particular newspaper, click on the "Publications" link and choose the newspaper from the results list. You can choose to view the most recent issue, or browse past issues, or search within all issues.
Coverage includes the LA Times, NY Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, and Christian Science Monitor. Full-text coverage from the 1980's. Detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need.

New York Times (ProQuest) (1985 - present) 
Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary; published in a national and a New York metropolitan edition. Includes local, and state news, science, sports, arts and entertainment, and business and finance news.

New York Times: Historical Issues (ProQuest) (1851-2007)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.

New York Times Book Review (ProQuest) (1986- present)
Find book reviews & news from the Sunday Book Review on new books, best-seller lists, fiction, non-fiction, literature, children's books, hardcover & paperbacks. To see the print version including photos, click on pdf.

Newspaper Source
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 35 national (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 375 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, The San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.

ProQuest Newsstand
Note: To read a particular newspaper, click on the "Publications" link, type in the newspaper's name, and hit 'enter'. Choose the newspaper from the results list. You can choose to view the most recent issue, or browse past issues, or search within all issues.

Newsstand includes indexed coverage of 1,370 U.S. and International newspapers, news journals, websites, and blogs providing current and backfile access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries and features. Titles include the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Financial Times, El Mundo, The Guardian, and many other national and regional titles. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.

Ventura County Star (Ventura, CA) - Daily newspaper site serving Ventura County with news, sports, entertainment, weather and classified ads.

NOTE: To access full text content user must login with the following login credentilas: username - pearsonlibrary, password - callutheran. Only 3 users can access it at a time.

Wall Street Journal 
(1984-present)
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Search for business and economics related topics.

Wall Street Journal: Historical Issues (ProQuest) (1889-1996)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.



 

 

Find everything


WorldCat Local tutorials
  |  WorldCat Local FAQs

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip